“The Christmas Culture”

wwwwallsavecom
…is everywhere.
And I simply
cannot find
Jesus.

I lost him at the mall, I think.
Or maybe as I walked past
the many, many Christmas lights.

We all drive hastily,
shop wastefully,
light candles only when
the day is done.

The Christmas culture…

…is everywhere.
And I lose him every year.
Between shopping
and the ads, the ads, the ads
(and have you ever thought
how much money they make telling children
to get
and adults to give?)

He’s gone again, I think.
Simply tired of this mess, this mess.

The Christmas culture…

…is everywhere.
And maybe they stole Christmas from us,
( – the ads, the ads, the ads – )
but what else can they take?

I’m still wrong, and as long
as that is true
we’ll find Jesus in places
unlikely.

He’ll be helping the sales girl
just ready to go home,
or the young mom driving children
afraid of the road,
or the man who spends money
because he cannot spend time,
or anyone crying his name
one more time…

Where is Jesus?
Immersed in our mess,

and he told me
that there’s no other place
he’d rather be.

Emma Dumitra.
Image from http://www.allsave.com.

Leave a Reply

