In the Shade of the World Tree

shutterstock

Copyright Norman Pogson

Dear world, please take me seriously.

Though I may be young, I am not unwise. You do not know how much I love to listen to the ancient earth as it creaks on its axis, to the whirs and clicks of time. I will pause in a crowded street, I will feel the heartbeat of the wind, I will look you in the eye.

Yet when it is my turn to speak, the microphone falters and my whispered words die. The audience turns to their iPhones. “Yeah, yeah, I’m listening.”

Yeah, yeah.

That is when I write. Dear world, please take me seriously, please hear what is on my heart tonight. Perhaps you do not know how much I see, how much I love.

Dear world, I love you more than you know. You are beautiful, full of people and faces and the science of God. Dear ancient, cynical world, let me show you the lights in my eyes, the sparks between my heart and mind. You do not know how much I stoke the fires.

This Christmas, dear world, let me show you one of my favourite things: I love to sit in the shade of the world tree and listen.

Dear world, will you listen to me?

Leave a Reply

