Photo Meme: “The Lovely”

Thanks to Shawn L. Bird (shawnbird.com) for the prompt photo
Red Woods”.
These were my instructions:
1. Create a poem, story, or article based on this photo.
2. Post it on your blog.
3. Cut and paste the photo onto your post (leaving the Monday
Meme text).
4. Put a link to your post in the comments to this post below so
we can visit your blog.

redwoods

I will rise with the lovely,
the streamlined ancients as they carve
the sun into its place,
and shadows shrug their wisps
as needle trees displace
the daggers that I see;

despite
what I may be, I know
that light’s
the only constant foe
to darkness –

so I stand.
I choose my fate
with arrow-spear in hand,
with needles falling
like the rain.

I will rise with the lovely
boughs
and float with the leaves.
Fall — and not be undone,

simply awed by the age of life,
for I am young.

Emma Dumitra.

3 thoughts on “Photo Meme: “The Lovely”

  1. Oh! *Very* nice! I particularly like “as they carve the sun into its place,” Thanks for participating in my Monday Meme!

Leave a Reply

