“Many Waters”

oceanwaves

On the edge of my universe,
the rim of the glass,
still wet where you drank
of my dreams.

Come out where there are
oceans and many waters
that flow, alive
and waiting
to swallow your tears,
make them beautiful.

I’ll be one of many,
forgotten by my own
imagination
in the thrown waters,
sloshing through the earth’s
many veins.

And will I rise with the mists? –
the torn shreds of cotton fog that hold
the secrets of the world? –
that hide the trees and wake the sun,
then fade?

Come out – but I’m still inside the glass,
and I’ll trace the road with
rubbed fingers, bleeding water
because I was made to be here for
just a while longer,
to drain the glass
before I brave the many seas.

Written August 2013, Emma Dumitra.
Image from http://www.imgkid.com.

Leave a Reply

